Hidden Figures Are Worth Their Hype

pharrell-runnin-hidden-figures

Well I’m no movie critic expert, but I can rave about the movie “Hidden Figures” without others sharing my sentiment. Everyone has a right to his or her opinion, and I personally found the movie worth its hype.  Why? The movie has many dimensions hidden in layers   of the storyline.

It’s a movie poignant and quite pertinent in the societal climate of today. There are many parallels transcending generations. If you’re looking for all the truths to reveal itself in the storyline you will miss out on some of the truth not included.

Early in the 60s, three African American women, Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughn, and Mary Jackson, former employees of Langley Research  Center, played key roles in assisting in the launching of USA’s Friendship 7 satellite rocket on February 20, 1962. The backdrop is the segregation era. These women maintained roles of obscurity until their stories were exposed to the world in theatres.

Despite of, no matter how hidden these powerful figures were- their truth is found in the hidden realities of history.

This is a must see if you not have seen. A wonderful way to show tribute to observance of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. celebration. The movie carries the theme of liberty and justice for all. The way I see it,  “Hidden Figures” is a reminder of how far we have come and how far we must go.

hidden-figures

`Yvonne L.

11 thoughts on “Hidden Figures Are Worth Their Hype

  1. Michelle Malone

    Thanks for the review! I want to see it soon. I intended to read the book first, but I think I’ll just go see the movie first — whether I’ve read the book or not. It’s amazing how we hide stories of greatness such as this one. P.S. I like the new brick background. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Peaceful Journey Post author

      I felt uplifted from watching the movie. I felt it had so many underlying messages that is for such a time as this. I didn’t read the book so I didn’t have any expectations other than seeing how the story unfold. …. thanks for the background compliment. I wanted to do something new and fresh 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. CineMuseFilms

    Great post thank you. This film achieves what any bio-pic drama can hope for: it offers feel-good entertainment while informing about a remarkable episode in history. Its also part of a wider cultural adjustment to the historical record which is mostly written by men for men. It will take decades to correct the chronicles and show the role of women in its correct light.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Peaceful Journey Post author

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts. You are correct, it will take awhile, but film by film our hopes are awareness such as this will be liberating for women. I agree, the film achieves what it set out to accomplish.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

