Sweet Aromatic Therapy to Stench

Aromatic

woman-relaxing-by-candles

Aromatic therapy to stench…

Plans for the evening are

relaxation and meditation…

After a long day of work,

the mind is on mute-

only engulfed in sweet fragrances…

Downtime on the chaise, I escape…

But this evening turns out a reminder …

because the mind begins to wander

and find its way to the homeless man I met the other day…

I’ve seen homeless before, and

the heartstrings are always pulled-

from tunes of concerned to sorrow-

sorrow to a feeling of helplessness-

Homelessness had a new facelift…

The outcome turned out to look like me and you…

Homelessness today is not easily recognized at times…

it’s often hidden behind a smile…

Look into the faces of the ladies, men,

and children at church, co-workers, family members,

or friends you’re find it…

When homelessness wandered into my path

the other day,

I looked into the eyes of fear and desperation.

I found  it on the face of the 76 years old man.

He was put out the home of a family member…

While some hearts are hardened

to the plight of homelessness

and some have been scammed by some homeless-

I never gave a whole lot of thought

to sowing seeds of kindness here and there…

One reason is because I believe in

the law of sowing and reaping…

What you sow, you will reap…

Seeds of kindness are in abundance…

those things are sure to come back to you

if they’re sown straight from the heart-

they’re on good grounds to flourish…

So, as I sink further into my thoughts

attempting to relax in an aromatic calm,

I must pause for a moment

to imagine the aroma of stench

some may face to escape to their rest

in a place they consider home…

dsc_1952

`Yvonne L.

As we celebrate this season of Thanksgiving and reflection, think of others besides you and your family. Think of those in need. Sow seeds of kindness.

Response to the Daily Prompt Challenge… today’s word (Aromatic)

 

 

22 thoughts on “Sweet Aromatic Therapy to Stench

  1. Awesome poem Yvonne! Your words touched so many emotions, and I like you believe that we can and need to sow seeds of selfless and genuine kindness and love to those we might find are in need! God bless my sister and may your thanksgiving be amazingly blessed!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Such benevolent thoughts.
    Its real sad to see a person, especially an elderly person abandoned by his family, staying on the streets. And I think of how much of money the rich splurge on brand names and luxuries,. If only every MAN would care for the OTHER MAN Less Fortunate than him, help him and care for him !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    That’s why daily when I pray, I say a pray for all these Old People abandoned by their families, staying on the streets and implore GOD to give them food to eat daily and take them fast into his Heavenly Abode.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cattie, thanks for sharing your thoughts and adding to the message. I agree, if each person make any effort to meet the need of another many needs are met. I appreciate you taking time to visit and read! Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

      Like

Leave a Reply

