Assumptions

561be8291400002a00c79b0b

There you go again,

always assuming,

not really knowing.

Think you know me,

think you have me figured out?

You didn’t figure in

I have a few moves you didn’t know about.

I know how to shuffle and maneuver

even when I’m not dancing

without you knowing my every move.

Just when I’m almost boxed

into the pretty package you wrapped me in

I find ways to burst out of my shell,

even out of the hell hole I’m in at times.

With will-power and determination,

I find ways to re-invent myself,

even if it requires a little venting here and there.

Each time, I come out on top

to breathe, exhale, and re-group again.

I bet one day you’ll learn not

to make too many assumptions

and underestimate my ability to grow.

You see,

I may grow in spurts from your viewpoint,

and by the time you see growth,

you assume I’m in that place

before you realize differently

I’m  in another place.

Keep assuming what you think you know.

The reality is-

you only think you know me.

But, I know who I am.

I am an unstoppable force.

`Yvonne L

 

 

11 thoughts on “Assumptions

Leave a Reply

