Don’t Cheat On Yourself

Cheat

5337e48d4132cc1fe678573a8f459893

Don’t cheat yourself. Are you using the gifts and talents you are given on the level you are capable of achieving? There is greatness inside each one of you waiting for you to cultivate and stretch to its fullest potential.

A few days ago, I viewed a video of someone I knew informing her audience of  an event occurring in five days. The creativity of her dialogue and appeal to prospective attendees was ingenious. This person was entertaining, informative, and persuasive. Watching the video felt more like a bona fide professional infomercial. In a few days the video had accumulated a large viewership from a simple but creative presentation.

So, what am I saying? Whatever you’re passionate about you will do it with a level of excellency. You will do it above the efforts of others. You’ll display enthusiasm. Others will sense your heart is in what you are saying or doing, and they are drawn.

This is where selling yourself short comes in. How often have you and I cheated ourselves? How often we have fallen short of our potential or become mediocre in what we were doing.  We may get the job done, but we have not given our best. Therefore, we are not quite effective and prolific as we desire.

Although I attempt to do my best in what I do, I have to ask myself, am I challenging my full potential? I thought about this when I viewed the video. Like the woman in the video, I know I have a niche for creativity. I enjoy doing things unconventional or applying an out-of-box approach to create interest. But, at times, I question, am I hitting the mark below my potential?

The answer is yes, at times.  If I am, well, I am cheating myself. I am robbing myself of full potential of effectiveness. I need to excel or strive for excellence all the time. By this way, if I fall short, it is not because I did not aim for excellence, but it is also not far from the mark.

I don’t aspire to sell myself short of its potential. What about you?

5b8b8488b18a37d719d05890875854ce

 

`Yvonne L.

Response to the Daily Prompt Challenge. Today’s word (cheat)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Don’t Cheat On Yourself

Leave a Reply

