Maybe Won’t Get Me Anywhere

Maybe

Indecisive-woman

Maybe I’ll take a walk in the park today.

I don’t know, it’s too hot today.

Maybe I’ll take a walk in the park this evening when it’s cooler.

I don’t know, it may be too dark.

Maybe I’ll take a walk in the park early in the morning.

I don’t know, it may be too early, and I’m there alone.

Maybe I’ll just wait until tomorrow.

Should I wait until tomorrow or go today?

WWS-Indecisive

Maybe I should make up my mind.

~Yvonne L

 

Response to the Daily Prompt Challenge. Today’s word (Maybe)

17 thoughts on “Maybe Won’t Get Me Anywhere

  1. College Mate

    So true. I always clash with people on this because I never hear their hidden maybe.

    For instance, if a friend says, I want to see you today, I usually expected them by that day. I was always confused when they didn’t show. Same thing when they wanted to change jobs, but never looked for one. Or wanted to go back to school, but didn’t do anything about it.

    I didn’t understand how someone could want a thing, have the time to do it, and then don’t. It’s the same laziness that powers ‘maybe’. We want, but don’t do.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Peaceful Journey Post author

      I think we often use words habitually or as clichés and do not think about their meaning while others do. So, we may take their meanings as intentions when they are saying them indecisively. Words are important, and I think we should consider what we mean and find the correct ways to convey what we mean. Thanks for sharing your insight.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. College Mate

        You’re right. As they say in Game of Thrones, words are wind. That’s the weight they carry. For most people they don’t mean much anymore. Only a few people mean them as real ‘intentions’ or hopes, and even fewer, as goals.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Peaceful Journey Post author

      Thanks for sharing that post, we shared similar thoughts on this one. Who would have thought the simple use of the word “maybe” could inspire us to move from a state of indecisiveness to making a choice of “yes or no.”

      Like

      Reply
  2. Vernon

    There’s something inside us that cries out for failure and wants us to stay stuck. We can be motivated to improve our lives one minute then talk ourselves out of it the next.
    Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Peaceful Journey Post author

      You are so right. I think there is someone who said something like “what we fear is the greatness in us.” Sometimes I believe we recognize how powerful we are and fear taking a chance of falling short of our potential. Failure seems a safer place to settle for instead of taking take the risk. I know that sounds like an oxymoron.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

