Life is More Than a Smooth Ride

Corvette_C6_004

When I was much younger, like many youth, I thought growing up was the ultimate thing to do. After all, you get to do what you wanted to do, I thought. Well, not quite, life is not without resistance as my naive mind supposed.  As a teen, you’re viewing the world from different lenses. According to my perspective, I did not figure in a lot of things most adults already knew. As you age, there are more responsibilities and less dependency on others.

After living a sheltered life as a youth, I was not one who caused a lot of problems, most of my rebelling started in my mid-twenties. In other words, finally I could make independent decisions. Some of my choices were good, and others weren’t too good.  I began to learn life is more than a smooth ride.

Fortunately, I didn’t sow my wild oats in alcohol, drugs, partying, and all. My challenges were making costly decisions. I’m not referring to monetary cost although I’ve had plenty challenges and lessons to learn about finances too. A challenge is a challenge regardless of its intensity. I appreciate the knowledge learned along the way.

I wouldn’t change my path or course on my journey because each challenge has been for the making of me. If everything was smooth and easy, I’m not sure if I would possess the wisdom I have now. How could I encourage others without ever having any challenges? How could I convince others the sun will shine after dark days without knowing it will?

Those who are experiencing bumpy rides, hold on, for those who are experiencing smooth rides, brace yourself. Life is full of twists and turns. Make sure whatever journey or path you take, you’re in to endure the ride of your life whether bumpy or smooth.

abumpyroad

~Yvonne L
Response to the Daily Prompt Challenge – Today’s word (Smooth)

 

11 thoughts on “Life is More Than a Smooth Ride

Leave a Reply

