Things I Learned the Year Before

 Launch

Some years ago I was asked, “It’s your birthday, what have you learned since last year? “My response was- without hesitation- ” to live in truth.” My response was unexpected. I did not expect to respond abruptly.  I had to explore the significance of those words. Those words meant it’s alright living in truth to myself and others. It is alright to live life free from the expectations of others.

I can say I am weak when I’m weak. I’m not always strong. There’s not a need to feel compelled to say “yes”when I mean”no.” Down-playing my accomplishments are not necessary, I just need to remain humble when receiving them. Yes, encouraging others is honorable but encouraging myself is too.  Taking care of my  wellness is a priority like caring care for others. Raising my level of thinking to a higher order requires some form of spirituality, and it is necessary in my efforts to stay focused and grounded.  Renewing my mind daily is a “must” and consideration is necessary to “think about the things I have been thinking about” to dispel toxic thinking.

Other things I have learned- My experiences are my experiences; therefore, I should avoid judging others by my experiences. Only seek to understand others, and if asked for my perspective, it’s only my point of view. I must keep mindful, perspectives are influenced by my environment. I have either adapted, changed, or conformed to.  I should also remember, situations occurring out of my control, if a change is desired, then I must change.

Listen more, speak less, but when speaking- have something to say. I can’t keep someone down without staying down myself. When I try to limit others I must stay in their position to make sure they do not move. These are some valuable lessons learned.

Life is too complex for my opinions, or perspectives, to encapsulate it.  Others may not always agree with me, but efforts to understand from the others perspective will help us understand each other better.  We are all in this together. Each person or encounter is an interaction deposited in our thoughts and actions. We either respond positively or negatively, but we are affected.

Finally, I’ve learned do not to expect from others what I am not willing to give. Hurt does not need denial. I don’t know everything- but  that’s alright. I recognize the lack of sufficient knowledge about something isn’t a total sign of ignorance,  but a need for further understanding.  There’s no need to run from love, surrender to letting love find its way (and it has).  It’s alright being happy, there’s no need to make excuses. Most importantly,  I don’t need to be others savior.  I need salvation.

~Yvonne L
5 thoughts on “Things I Learned the Year Before

Leave a Reply

